Board of Directors

Antarctica New Zealand has a six-member Board

Members of the Board are appointed for three years by the Minister of Foreign Affairs in consultation with the Board Chair. This period may be extended by the Minister for up to a further three years.

Members are collectively accountable to the Minister of Foreign Affairs for the performance of Antarctica New Zealand. All delegated functions and powers within Antarctica New Zealand arise from the Board's delegations.  The Board’s role is governance. Specific functions within this overall role include:

  • Setting the strategic direction of Antarctica New Zealand and developing policy, in a manner consistent with the organisation’s statutory framework, for example through the Annual Business Plan
  • Ensuring compliance with the law, accountability documents and relevant Crown expectations. This includes financial responsibility for all money received by the Crown and reinforcing expectations of behaviour that are appropriate to a public body
  • Appointing the Chief Executive
  • Monitoring the performance of Antarctica New Zealand and the Chief Executive; and
  • Maintaining appropriate relationships with the Minister, Parliament and the public. This includes accounting for the performance and management of the organisation.

The Chief Executive is responsible for the staffing and management of Antarctica New Zealand.


Board Members

Rob Fenwick - CNZM - Chair

Rob Fenwick is an experienced businessman and company director with interests closely aligned to promoting sustainable development.


Carolyn Burns

Carolyn grew up in Lincoln, Canterbury, and after several years in Canada and USA returned to New Zealand where she is a Professor of Zoology at the University of Otago, Dunedin.


Rob Fyfe

Rob completed his term as CEO of Air New Zealand, Chairman of the Star Alliance and as a Member of the Board of Governors of the International Air Transport Association (IATA) five weeks ago.


Tony O’Brien

Tony O’Brien emigrated from the UK to New Zealand and joined SKY Television in April 1991.


Brian Roche BCA FCA

Brian, prior to his appointment as Chief Executive, New Zealand Post Group, was a partner of PriceWaterhouseCoopers.


Tenby Powell

Tenby Powell’s professional experience spans the private business sector, Government entities, not-for profit and the Military.


Phillip Melchior

Phillip Melchior, of Wanaka, has been appointed to the Board of Antarctica New Zealand. A keen tramper and guided mountaineer.